Storming Badajoz

“The Devil’s Own” 88th Regiment at the Siege of Badajoz. Watercolour en grisaille by Richard Caton Woodville Jr. (1856-1927)

About 15 years ago I was burned out on reading about and researching 20th Century warfare. I had a 24 hour duty shift coming up and wanted something different to read during the downtime so I hit a local bookstore. I found Bernard Cornwell’s Sharpe’s Rifles and figured “Why not?” as I knew next to nothing about the Napoleonic Wars. It didn’t take long to get hooked on the series. Even though the plots were fairly similar, the historical information contained in each was fascinating.

So there you go, I have interests besides aviation and cars!

Leave a Reply

